The Holes In Flutter 4.0 And Why It Matters

Fred Grott
6 min readMar 27, 2023

Note: I have moved my flutter app design writing to my substack which is free to subscribe at:

There are some big holes in Flutter 4.0 largely due to the Google dev team stretched to covering GWT, Android, and Flutter. And given that Material Design 3 implementation in Flutter will never be fully finished just like Material Design 2, one should know and master the 3rd party solutions that fill those holes. Let me give you a brief look at where the holes are and how to fill them.

The HCT to Material Design Relationship Is An Evolving Relationship

Let me show you some recent additions to the Material Color Utilities package, which is the outside package the Flutter SDK uses to implement that HCT color space:

Right from the changelog at:

https://pub.dev/packages/material_color_utilities/changelog

0.3.0–2023–03–10

Added

Add 4 new components:

--

--