Google’s Missing Flutter State Management Guide

Fred Grott
6 min readJun 15, 2023

Note: I have moved my flutter app design writing to my substack which is free to subscribe at:

If I was a developer and design advocate at Google, this is the Flutter State Management Guide I would write for the Flutter SDK documents. I just happen to have more time and more expertise at getting to the heart of the matter.

This is the developer side of what you need to master, and of course at a later time I will cover the design side you need to know to get hired as a Flutter App developer. Now, onward to Flutter State Management!

The Observer Pattern

State management in Flutter is not the Dart OOP state pattern:

As that only holds state but leaves state management wide open to solve. Instead, the OOP pattern of observer is

--

--