Customize Material Design 3 With RydMike’s Flex Color Scheme

Fred Grott
8 min readMar 14, 2023

Note: I have moved my Flutter code and Flutter app design writing to my substack which is free to join at:

In this article I will be covering the Theme-ing and Component Theme-ing aspect of the Material Design System in Flutter apps where I use RydMike’s

Flex Color Scheme to avoid having to manually code 25-plus component themes. Flex Color Scheme also fixes minor imperfections in the Material Design 3 implementation in the Flutter SDK, so it is an important part of the 3rd party UX library stack to leverage in your UX design process as a Flutter app designer.

First, a little background of why we have two default design systems in the Flutter SDK.

What Am I Using

I am using these packages:

Material Color Utilities

--

--